Alex Jonsson has two new albums you should be listening to


I first became acquainted with the music of guitarist Alex Jønsson when I crossed paths with the debut album from the ensemble I Think You’re Awesome.  It was a seriously catchy mix of modern jazz, Nordic folk and indie rock, and its thick hooks and foot-tapping tempos didn’t get in the way of some complexity or introspection.  It was fun music that could certainly lead to contemplation.

Here’s two new releases from the Copenhagen-based guitarist.


I Think You’re Awesome – Books

The sophomore release from the sextet I Think You’re Awesome is no less compelling than its predecessor, nor any less catchy.  “No 5 With a Bullit” opens things up with the same kind of embraceable melody and strange loping cadence that marked their debut.  That cadence carries over to “Alting Hele Tiden,” and the ensemble punctuates it with a rock ‘n roll roar.  And that melody, god, it just puts a smile on my face how much fun this music is and how easily is forges a connection.  “People Who Love” is the ensemble showing they still remember how to shift into a contemplative mood, and “Three Day Open Season” is the reminder that when they groove, it’s never standard operating procedure.

About as friendly as an album can be.  Worth noting that there’s a live version of this album recently released, too.  And don’t forget to check out their debut (go read about it).

Your album personnel:  Alex Jønsson (guitar), Jens Mikkel Madsen (electric & double basses), Morten Kærup (banjo, guitar), Kasper Staub (piano, synth), Andreas Skamby (drums, percussion) and Frej Lesner (drums, percussion).

Released in 2016 on Jaeger Community.

Listen to more of the album on the artist’s Soundcloud page.

Available at:  eMusic


Alex Jønsson – Heart of Gold

This trio set is comprised of half of the I Think You’re Awesome ensemble, but the music is far more straight-forward.  Heart of Gold is a nice laid-back guitar session recorded at a house concert in Aarhus, Denmark.  The material is situated firmly in modern territory, but that doesn’t prevent the bass and drums duo of Jens Mikkel Madsen and Andreas Skamby from inciting some motion that swings and shuffles and bops in its own particular way.

“War is Peace” growls out the melody whereas the melody of “I Kveld Blir Det Snø” is a night sky of glittering stars, but most of the album falls in line with tracks like “Puzzle,” “Niðaróss” and title-track “Heart of Gold,” where the melody is quickly sketched out so the trio can spend most of their time developing it as far as the horizon will take them.

Plenty enjoyable, and a nice example of where jazz guitar is on the modern scene.

Your album personnel:  Alex Jønsson (guitar), Jens Mikkel Madsen (double bass) and Andreas Skamby (drums).

Released in 2016 on Jaeger Community.

Listen to more of the album on the artist’s Bandcamp page.

Available at:  Bandcamp | Amazon