Preview “The Reason Why Vol. 3,” the upcoming release from Goran Kajfes


The Goran Kajfeš Subtropic Arkestra have a new album on the horizon.  The Reason Why Vol. 3 is getting released November 3rd, 2017 on Kajfeš’ own label, Headspin Recordings.  It’s the final volume of the trilogy, and hints at the rich diversity of influences and expressions that have defined the series up to this point.  Kajfeš is one of the most inventive musicians currently on the scene.

Here’s a preview of what’s to come…

Your album personnel:  Goran Kajfeš (trumpet), Per “Ruskträsk” Johansson (saxophones, flute), Jonas Kullhammar (saxophones, flute), Per “Texas” Johansson (sax, clarinet, oboe), Reine Fiske (electric guitar, mellotron), Robert Östlund (electric guitar), Jesper Nordenström (organ, Fender Rhodes, piano, synthesizer), Johan Berthling (bass), Johan Holmegard (drums, percussion) and guest: Juan Romero (percussion).

You can learn more about the album, listen to it and pre-order purchase it on the artist’s Bandcamp page.  It’s also available at Amazon.

And you can read more about the first installment of the trilogy, as well as his intriguing 2010 release X/Y (go check it out).  The Reason Why Vol.1 was this site’s #25 album of the year on the Best of 2013 list.

Update (12/10/2017):  The album was included in my Best of Bandcamp Jazz column.