Recommended: Josh Green & The Cyborg Orchestra – “Telepathy & Bop”


Telepathy & Bop is the cinematographer hijacking the movie.  The director is thrown off a cliff.  The actors are chased into the streets.  Executive Producers go missing, never heard from again.  And everyone who remains on the set is dedicated to the vision of the person in control of the camera.

It’s a movie where the idea of plot is discarded as an unnecessary distraction.  Dialog is frivolous, and a soundtrack is useful only in its service to the imagery.  And the debut from Josh Green & The Cyborg Orchestra has got plenty of that.

It’s a deluge of imagery.  Sometimes it’s a curious beauty, and sometimes it’s jaw-dropping gorgeous.  It exists in a perpetual state of change, and rarely does a manifestation occur with anything resembling logic or causality.  The music is either deeply cerebral or emotionally thrilling, and never does it venture far from either of those extremes.  Sometimes a bit of personality emerges… a melodic thread that carries a moderate distance, a harmonic passage that hints at similar such moments before, a rhythmic device that seems on the verge of conveying a message of import… but those traces of character dissolve just as quickly as they appear, and the focus of the ensemble returns to a goal of drawing up another scene of lovely imagery.

It’s the kind of album that you’ll enjoy immensely, even if you can’t entirely explain why.  And, ultimately, as you keep hitting the play button, you’ll find that you really don’t care.

Your album personnel:  Charles Pillow (oboe, alto sax, tenor sax), Todd Groves (EWI, flute, alto sax, tenor sax, Eb clarinet, contrabass clarinet), Jay Hassler (Bb clarinet, bass clarinet), Nathan Schram (viola), Nick Revel (viola), Clarice Jenson (cello), John Lake (trumpet), Chris Misch-Bloxdorf (trombone), Nathan Kochi (accordion), Sungwon Kim (guitar), Michael Verselli (piano), Brian Courage (bass), Josh Bailey (drum set) and PUBLIQuartet of Curtis Stewart (violin), Jannina Norpoth (violin), Nick Revel (viola) and Amanda Gookin (cello).

The album is Self-Produced.

Listen to another album track on the artist’s Soundcloud page.

Music from NYC.

The album releases February 24th.  Retail links will be added at that time or as they become available.