The Wayne Horvitz free download series: “A Walk in the Rain”


Wayne Horvitz - "At the Reception"This week’s free Wayne Horvitz track is from his 2014 release At the Reception, which features his current working crew, The Royal Room Collective.  As I’ve mentioned in previous columns featuring Horvitz’s 52 free downloads for 52 weeks, his sound can vary dramatically from moment to moment just as it evolves over time.  In this instance, it’s a straight-ahead sound that’s warm and familiar.  Of particular interest are those compositions that were performed previously on recordings by Horvitz groups that weren’t situated so closely to Jazz center, and it’s always interesting to hear new variations and facets of well-liked tunes.   A different vision of this composition can be heard with Horvitz’s chamber ensemble, The Gravitas Quartet, on their album One Dance Alone, as well as the 2008 recording from his jazz-blues-folk group Sweeter Than the Day.

Remember, these tracks are only free for a week, typically running from Tuesday to Tuesday, so don’t wait to take advantage of the artist’s offer.

Your album personnel:  Wayne Horvitz (composer, conductor), Kate Olson (soprano sax), Al Keith, Samantha Boshnack, Steve O’Brien (trumpets), Naomi Siegel, Jacob Herring, Willem de Koch (trombones), Beth Fleenor (clarinet), Ivan Arteaga (alto sax), Skerik (tenor sax), Greg Sinibaldi (baritone sax), Ryan Burns (piano), Geoff Harper (bass) and Eric Eagle (drums).

Released in 2014 on Songlines Recordings.

Listen to other album tracks on the label’s Soundcloud page.

Explore more of Horvitz’s music on his Bandcamp page.

Available at:  eMusic | Amazon