Album of the Day: Lawful Citizen – “Internal Combustion”


Artist:  Lawful Citizen

Album:  Internal Combustion

Label:  Self-Produced

Style:  Post-jazz

Favorite Track:  “The Road To Nowhere”

Music from:  Montreal, Québec

What I like about it:  I like how this album is sort of all over the place.  One minute there’s a funereal tone, then suddenly it shifts into high octane excitement, and before long, sails a melody out into contemplative waters.  But I like how the quartet Lawful Citizen strings these wild changes together in a way that suggests a certain logic, and effectively ties the beginning and ends of tunes together in a way that suggests as much care was given to the transitions between pieces as the pieces themselves.  There’s an exuberance that gives the impression that the quartet members were having a blast in the recording studio, and I like how that cheerful feeling gets passed along to the listener.

Your album personnel:  Evan Shay (tenor sax), Aime Duquet (guitar), Antoine Pelegrin (electric bass) and Kyle Hutchins (drums).

Available at:  Amazon | Bandcamp

Listen to more of the album on the artist’s Bandcamp page.

Be sure to check out the artist’s site.