Recommended: Robert Diack – “Lost Villages”


There’s some extreme transitions between states of volatility and stasis.  It’s the source of this music’s charisma.  It’s also a source of rediscovery.  Individually, the pieces of Lost Villages stand out on their own.  Their specific characteristics are amplified internally, self-referential as to their unique qualities, and only the jarring switches between the tumult of one piece and the contemplation of another indicates any relationship between them.  But revisiting this album time and again, it becomes increasingly clear how the pieces work with one another, and become viewed less as individual islands and more as landmarks giving personality to the landscape of the recording.

Robert Diack isn’t reticent about unleashing a burst of chaotic upheaval, even if it means an obliteration of the prevailing tranquility.  The indie-rock ferocity of “Pluterperfect” becomes a natural precursor to the gentle raindrop melody of “Idyll,” and how the drummer traverses that distance is emblematic of the album’s tonal shifts.  Sometimes the intensity changes within a piece, and those passages possess an even greater immediacy than those occurring between pieces, when the acclimation period allows the luxury of time for things to settle in.

Your album personnel:  Robert Diack (drums), Brandon Davis (bass), Jacob Thompson (piano) and Patrick O’Reilly (guitar).

This album is Self-Produced.

Listen to more of the album on the artist’s Bandcamp page.

Music from Toronto, Ontario.

Available at:  Bandcamp | Amazon