Preview “Scandal,” the new album out soon from Joe Lovano & Dave Douglas


There’s a new album on the horizon from the Sound Prints quintet led out by saxophonist Joe Lovano and trumpeter Dave Douglas.  Douglas’s Greenleaf Music is releasing Scandal on April 6th, 2018.  The Sound Prints ensemble was originally fueled by the music of Wayne Shorter, but their newest album focuses more on original works from Douglas and Lovano.  That said, there are two Shorter compositions that made their way into this playlist… one of which is “Juju,” perhaps my favorite Shorter tune.

Stream two of the album’s tracks for a preview of what’s to come…

Your album personnel:  Joe Lovano (tenor & G mezzo soprano saxophones), Dave Douglas (trumpet), Lawrence Fields (piano), Linda May Han Oh (bass) and Joey Baron (drums).

Learn more about the album, and pre-order it, on their Bandcamp page.

Also available for pre-order on Amazon.